Róża Thun in defence of Muratbek Ketebayev
© mukhtarablyazov.org 14.01.2015

At the plenary session in Strasbourg on Monday (12.01), the MEP Róża Thun spoke in defence of the Kazakh activist and oppositionist Muratbek Ketebayev, detained on 27th December 2014 in Madrid. In her intervention, Thun appealed to Spanish MEPs whilst relying on the non-refoulement principle protecting persecuted people.

“It cannot be the case of one country in the European Union protecting and granting asylum to a third country’s national for another state to subsequently deport the same person to his home country where he is at risk of persecution. This is in breach of the non-refoulement principle which should be followed by each Member State,’ the MEP emphasised. Thun also addressed the people in the room, the Spanish representation in particular, urging them not to allow political refugees to be sent back to countries where they are at risk of torture and persecution. “We must do all we can to make sure that those who have been granted asylum in one EU country are safe and secure in all countries throughout the EU,”.

Detaining Ketebayev, the Spanish authorities ignored his refugee status granted in Poland. This is against the non-refoulement principle mentioned by Thun to the effect that states are obliged to protect persons who, in the event of deportation, are threatened by persecution. Astana accuses Ketebayev of alleged criminal offences. In actual fact, the activist is associated with the Kazakh opposition circles and co-founded, amongst others, the biggest independent party Alga! Following his emigration, he continued to be active, unmasking the mechanisms of Nazarbayev’s regime. The Interpol notice, sent by his home country, under which Ketebayev was detained, is an example of abuse of international police mechanisms by authoritarian countries.

Sources: Europarl.europa.eu, Róża Thun’s channel - Youtube


Country Austria Belgium Czech Republic France Germany Italy Kazakhstan Poland Russia Spain Ukraine Topic Ablyazov Aix-en-Provence Aleksander Kwaśniewski Alexander Pavlov Alga! Aliyia Turusbekova Alma Shalabayeva Alua Ablyazova amnesty Amnesty International Ana Maria Gomes Angelino Alfano Antonin Lévy Astana asylum Audiencia Nacional Bill Browder Bolat Atabayev BTA Bank Bundestag Cassation Court Catherine Ashton Christiane Taubira Corbas Danielle Auroi Decembrists Democratic Choice of Kazakhstan Denis Grunis deportation economy EEAS Elena Valenciano Elisabeth Guigou Enhanced Partnership and Cooperation Agreement EU-Kazakhstan European Commission European Union extradition Federica Mogherini Fernando Maura Barandiaran Filippo Grandi Five Star Movement France Francois Hollande Frank Schwabe freedom of speech Garry Kasparov Home Office HRW human rights i-link Ignacio Sánchez Amor ill-treatment Ilyas Khrapunov Ilyashev & Partners international protection Interpol Iogan Merkel Irene Lozano ITAR-TASS Jacek Saryusz-Wolski Jaromír Štětina Jean-Claude Juncker Kazakhgate Kazakhstan Kazakhstan’s Prosecutor’s General Office Kazaword Kazimierz Michał Ujazdowski Kozlovska Kramek Laurent Fabius Lev Ponomarov Libero llyashev & Partners Lyon Lyudmyla Kozlovska Madina Ablyazova Mady Delvaux-Stehres Manuel Valls Manuela Serra Marcin Święcicki Marju Lauristin Mark Feygin Matteo Renzi Maurizio Improta Mediapart Michał Boni Ministry of Foreign Affairs Mukhtar Ablyazov Muratbek Ketebayev Nail Malyutin National Preventive Mechanism Nazarbayev Niccolo Rinaldi Nicolas Sarkozy non-refoulement principle Nursultan Nazarbayev Open Dialog PACE Pavel Svoboda Pavel Zabelin Peter Sahlas political asylum political persecution political prisoner prison privatization Process Rakhat Aliyev Ramazan Yesergepov rankings Red Alert Red Notice refugee status refugees release on parole repressions Russia Russian Federation Samruk-Kazyna Santer Sergey Duvanov Serhiy Khodakivskiy Solange Legras sources Spain Squarcini Statement Succession Sylvie Guillaume Syrym Shalabayev Tatiana Paraskevich the General Prosecutor’s Office of Ukraine Thun Tomáš Zdechovský Tomasz Makowski Tony Blair torture trial Trofimov Tunne Kelam Ukraine unfair trial UNHCR United Nations Urko Aiartza Viktor Shokin Vitaliy Kasko Viviane Reding Vladimir Guzyr Vladimir Kozlov Warrant Yehor Sobolev Yevgeniy Zhovtis Yukos Zhanaozen Zinaida Mukhortova
  • World reacts